This Benefice is within the Sharnbrook Deanery, and this in turn is part of the Archdeaconry of Bedford within the St Albans Diocese. Clergy within this deanery meet monthly at ‘Deanery Chapter’ which rotates around the deanery. Regular Deanery Synod meetings also take place (generally in Bletsoe Village Hall) where elected ‘Deanery Synod’ representatives from each church in the Deanery meet up.

Our Rural Dean for this Deanery is: Rev’d Robert Evens
Our Assistant Rural Dean for this Deanery is: Rev’d Stephen Liley
Our Lay Chairman for this Deanery is: David Fraser.
(See the Contact Us page).

The 31 parishes that are within the Sharnbrook Deanery are:

Benefice name:Church(es):Website(s):
Bromham with Oakley and Stagsden
(joined this deanery from Elstow 1st Jan 2011)
(Rev’d Linda Bond, with NSM’s:
Rev’d Di Harpam, Rev’d Paula Vennells)
St Owen, Bromham
St Mary, Oakley
St Leonard, Stagsden
(joined this deanery from Elstow 1st Jan 2011)
(Rev’d Stephen Liley)
St Thomas,
Harrold and Carlton with Chellington
(Rev’d Jane Fox)
St Peter and All Saints, Harrold
St Mary the Virgin, Carlton
(Former church of St Nicholas,
now The Chellington Centre.)


Keysoe with Bolnhurst and Little Staughton
(Rev’d Jane Bass – priest in residence, for Keysoe with Rev’d Derek Draper for Bolnhurst & Little Staughton.)
St Mary the Virgin, Keysoe
St Dunstan, Bolnhurst
All Saints, Little Staughton
Milton Ernest, Pavenham and Thurleigh
(Rev’d Elizabeth Inall)
All Saints, Milton Ernest
St Peter, Pavenham
St Peter, Thurleigh
(Note: All 3 addresses go to this same Benefice site.)
(Rev’d Christine Clark)
All Saints,
Riseley with Bletsoe
(Rev’d Martin Bailey)
St Mary, Bletsoe
All Saints, Riseley
Sharnbrook, Felmersham and Knotting with Souldrop
(Rev’d Robert Evens,
curate: Rev’d Tom Sander)
St Mary, Felmersham
St Peter, Sharnbrook
St Margaret, Knotting
– with St Mary, Souldrop
)             (see also:
)-  (new web address)
The Stodden Churches
(Rev’d Jan Brookshaw,
asst: Rev’d Norman Holden)
All Hallows, Dean
St Mary Magdalene, Melchbourne
St Peter, Pertenhall
St Mary, Shelton
St Nicholas, Swineshead
St Mary, Yelden
Turvey and Stevington
(Canon Peter Mackenzie)
All Saints, Turvey
St Mary the Virgin, Stevington (Not working, see below:)
Wilden with Colmworth and Ravensden
(Rev’d Sheila Morten)
St Nicholas, Wilden
St Denys, Colmworth
All Saints, Ravensden
Wymington with Podington
(long term vacancy)
St Lawrence, Wymington
St Mary the Virgin, Podington with Farndish
No website
No website